UPNAAI's 35th Anniversary & Coral Jubilee - An 'Affair to Remember'

20 Aug 2014 9:00 AM | Deleted user

The University of the Philippines Nursing Alumni Association International's 35th Annual Reunion & Coral Jubilee on August 1 & 2, 2014 at The Wyndham New Yorker Hotel in New York City was an awesome & highly inspiring weekend hosted by the University of the Philippines-Nurses of the East Coast (UPN-EC) Chapter. The 2014 Reunion Theme was "Global Leadership: Breaking Barriers."

The very successful & memorable event was graced by the presence of our precious 2014 Jubilarians (classes ending in 4 & 9), our new UP College of Nursing (UPCN) Dean Lourdes Marie Tejero, past UPNAAI Presidents like Mama Flor Sison Castelo (UPNAAI's first President, Class‘50), former Julita V. Sotejo Medallion of Honor Awardees, the 2014-2015 UPNAAI Board of Directors chaired by Jesusa Santa Barbara Czach (UPNAAI President, Class‘79), representatives & officers from UPNAAI's three chapters, other batches (1946, 1948, 1950, 1963, & 1975), families, friends, & guests.

There were 108 attendees at the breakfast education conference, 170 at the Luncheon Reunion/Roll Call, and 245 at the Dinner Dance. It was truly a blessing to see all the guests, alumni, & jubilarians from the Philippines, Canada, the local New York/New Jersey areas, other US states like CA, TX, VA, FL, AZ, GA, UT, IL, NV, & others. It was exhilarating to welcome the newly installed University of the Philippines Nursing Alumni Association -Texas (UPNAA-TX) Chapter represented by members of their Board of Directors chaired by Susan V. Garaygay (UPNAA-TX President) from Class of 1968. The UPN-EC and DelMarVa chapter representatives were present at the investiture ceremony during the Gala night including Lanel Silvers (UPN-EC President) from Class ‘81. UPNAAI applauds the 2014 Julita V. Sotejo Medallion of Honor awardee, Dr. Dula Fara-on Pacquiao, EdD, RN, CTN-A, TNS, the UPCN Class‘68 President & Valedictorian. UPNAAI is also grateful for the outstanding academic lectures and various poster presentations during the breakfast conference. We are deeply impressed with our young, bright, and capable Dean Lourdes Marie Tejero, the new UP College of Nursing Dean from Class'93. Dean Tejero upholds and executes the traditional UP excellence and balances this serious responsibility with a very motivating and delightful personality.

UPNAAI is very thankful and deeply touched by the outpouring of generous donations from the UP Nursing alumni classes: Class'68, Class'69, Class'74, Class‘79, Class'84, & Class'89 and others. UPNAAI & UPN-EC are grateful for the beautiful jewelries and TV donated by our kind vendors. We are so elated to see that winners of the 50/50 and the TV donated their winnings to UPCN.

Please come and join us on August 7-8, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency of Orange County (11999 Harbor Blvd., Garden Grove, CA 92840) to celebrate UPNAAI's 36th Anniversary and honor our 2015 Jubilarians from the following classes: 1945, 1950, 1955, 1960, 1965, 1970, 1975, 1980, 1985, 1990, 1995, 2000, 2005, and 2010. The 2015 UPNAAI Convention theme is "Transforming the Future: Waves of Change, Oceans of Opportunity." Please visit the UPNAAI.org website and UPNAAI's facebook page (www.facebook.com/upnaai) for more information regarding the 2015 registration brochure, the advertisement in the 2015 UPNAAI yearbook, and booking your room at the venue to avail of the discounted blocked room rates. We also encourage all our UP nursing alumni to join UPNAAI as life members. Please download the membership form from the UPNAAI.org website. We look forward to seeing you at UPNAAI's 36th Convention in Southern California.


UPNAAI's 35th Convention Gala Night August 2, 2014 The Wyndham New Yorker's Grand Ballroom, New York City, New York: UPNAAI Board of Directors & Advisers; Top Row L-R: Jesusa Santa Barbara'79 (President), UPCN Dean Lourdes Tejero'93, 5 Advisers/Past Presidents Jessie Ivins'69, Nati Matitu-Mercado”68, Lyvia Villegas'68, Dors Maligalig'72 & Mely de Leon (not in the photo). Bottom Row L-R: Marlene Chance'75 (Board Member), Edmund JY Pajarillo'79 (1st VP), Susan Garaygay'68 (Board Member), Emerita Goodrich'74 (2nd VP), Gloria Smitka'69 (3rd VP), Perry Francisco'69 (Correspondence Secretary), Iren Bobis Roldan'69 (Treasurer), Leonila Navarro Mariazeta'79 (PRO), Theresa Liboro Abad'81 (Board Member), Lachme Sullesta'68 (Board Member)

UPNAAI Governing Board Meeting August 2, 2014 at The Wyndham New Yorker Hotel, New York City, New York. UPNAAI Board of Directors, Advisers/Past Presidents, and chapter representatives from UPN-EC, DelMarVa, & UPNAA-TX chapters with UPCN Dean Lourdes Marie Tejero'93 (Sitted, 3rd from the left), UPNAAI's 1st President Floresinda Sison Castelo'50 (Sitted, 4th from the right), & UPNAAI's 17th President Jesusa Santa Barbara Czach'79 (Sitted, 3rd from the right) and others not included in the photo. Photo courtesy of Rudy Villegas.

Dance Presentation by the host chapter, the University of the Philippines Nurses of the East Coast (UPN-EC) - Dueling Dancers: Tinikling versus Cowboys

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software